Annual Competition Allows East Tennessee Students to Showcase Artwork

November 25, 2008

Students from grades six through 12 showcase their talents at the Knoxville Museum of Art during the third annual East Tennessee Regional Student Art Exhibition November 26, 2007 – January 11, 2008 . The competition, presented by the Tennessee Art Education Association and the KMA, offers students the opportunity to display their artwork and be honored for their accomplishments in a professional art museum environment. The awards ceremony for the artists on Tuesday, December 2 at 6pm at the KMA is open to the public and free of charge.

Awards for students total over $600,000. The Best-of-Show winner receives a purchase award of $500, and the artwork becomes a part of the collection of James Dodson, on loan to the Knoxville Museum of Art’s Education Collection.

Categories for the competition include ceramic, drawing, digital imagery, mixed media, painting, computer graphics, sculpture, traditional photography, and printmaking. The competition includes works from middle and high school students, grades six – 12, from public, private or home schools in East Tennessee, and is being juried Amanda Dillingham , gallery curator at the Renaissance Center in Dickson, Tennessee, Bill Hickerson , curator of the West Tennessee Regional Art Center, Humboldt, Tennessee, Elizabeth Stephanie Cramer, coordinator of art education and assistant professor at University of Tennessee, and Martha Caulkins, retired art educator.

The exhibition is made possible by presenting sponsor Regal Entertainment/Regal Foundation Group, with additional sponsorship from Home Federal Bank, All Occasion Catering, The Cleveland Institute of Art, Coleman’s Printing & Awards, College for Creative Studies, Corcoran Gallery of Art/College of Art & Design, Crayola, James Dodson, Jerry’s Artarama, Maryland Institute College of Art, Memphis College of Art, Morris Creative Group, Nossi College of Art, Jan & Sylvia Peters, Ringling College of Art & Design, SCAD, Tennessee Arts Commission, University of Tennessee College of Architecture & Design, Watkins College of Art & Design/Film School.